Another Milestone, Another Rest Stop

I have now uploaded over 1,000 photos to my Flickr account, which I started over two years ago while on sabbatical in Japan. Now I’m headed back to Japan for one week of vacation, to Nagoya, where I might get the chance to attend a bit of the sumo tournament now underway there. I’ll also make a side trip to my old stomping ground in Kyoto, from my elementary school years there half a century ago. I recently managed by chance to get in touch with one of my elementary school classmates I haven’t seen in half a century. He was the son of an eccentric English bibliophile of some renown, not a missionary kid like most of my other classmates.

These days I’m spending more time posting photos on Flickr, and adding or refining content on Wikipedia, than posting text on this blog. In all three venues my approach is much more documentarian than artistic. Nearly everything turns into a little research project. That’s what keeps it fun for me.

1 Comment

Filed under blogging, Japan

One response to “Another Milestone, Another Rest Stop

  1. Sandy

    Ohisashiburi! Genki desuka? Atashi wa saikin tama ni kono buroggu wo yomu.

    Nihon e iku? Hontou ni? Sugoi, urayamashii yo. Ja, kiotsukete ne–ittarashai.

Leave a Reply

